The Great Indian Litterbug

Good Morning! Have you met the great Indian Litterbug yet?

What a stupid question. I am sure, if you are a citizen of India, living in India, you would have often met them. May be, you are one of them. Well let’s not get personal. After all, when did public hygiene and national integrity became a “personal issue”? 🙂

Anyways, with the help of Times of India and Indiblogger, Here’s introducing- The Great Indian litterbug. <Applause>

The Great Indian Litterbug or lets say- TGIL [after all the great Shakespeare had said- What’s in the name? And our TGIL believes- whats in the civic sense?] The TGIL is “Shuddh Desi Indian” and in many a cases a “Non required Indian” who would have kept the Phorren country that he/she “Green card-ed” in awesome-ly clean and neat but on home turf, TGIL defines him/her the best.

TGIL was born in the same country as you and I. With same kind of physical and mental senses like all of us, and even went to same school that a lot of us does. Ah! school reminds me of the famous school pledge that students of Kendriya Vidhyalaya AKA Central Schools in India would be well verse of. For the ignorant, here we go-

The usual Pledge/ National Pledge that a lot of us/our children took everyday, while in school-

India is my country and all Indians are my brothers and sisters. I love my country and am proud of its rich and varied heritage. I shall always strive to be worthy of it. I shall give respect to my parents, teachers and elders and treat everyone with courtesy. To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion. In their well-being and prosperity, alone lies my happiness. Jai Hind

Now, if our TGIL have to take this pledge. Assuming that TGIL slept all his years down while the national pledge was being taken and in their own fantastic slumber, had their niche version made. The version may go like this-

India is my country and all Indians are my [litter] brothers and [litter] sisters. I love my country and am proud of its rich and varied heritage. I shall always strive to be litter-worthy of it. I shall give respect to my parents, teachers and elders and treat everyone with courtesy [which includes spitting outside home, smoking in public- away from their privy eyes, letting their name on house doors but caving my name on national monuments and public places including trains, peeing in public, throwing garbage out of house- right on to road, Or at neighbors house as my neighbors are lower than my age and the works].

To my country and my people, I pledge my [unconditional littering] devotion. In misusing it’s well-being and prosperity, alone lies my happiness. Jai Hind

Now isn’t that sweet? It will be sweetest when the constitution of India, in it’s bid to “clean India” but yet not successful [after all which minister travel outside his/her AC cars and fancy homes?] modifies the current pledge and incorporate the new pledge that truly defines we Indians, we TGIL.

Aha! I just translated your thoughts here? Well! Guess the feeling is mutual. Even publishing major TImes of India feels the same. You want to read more about the Pledge that out TGIL Fanclub at TOI has taken? Well click this link to read- http://greatindian.timesofindia.com/.

Jai Gandagi! [Hygiene, Heath and inclusive living be damned. We are after all, The Great Indian Litterbug]

So cheers, chill and enjoy!

Share your feedback / Opinions / Experiences

